Dr. D K Chadha (President)

D.K. Chadda (Secretary)

D.K. Chadha has a Ph.D. and M.Sc. in Geology from Panjab University, Chandigarh, India. He has more than 45 years of experience in research & professional His major interest in the field of Geology and Hydrogeology, Environmental Hydrogeology, Aquifer mapping, Geochemistry, Groundwater management and Artificial recharge. He has pioneered the Indian research scene within specific areas such as Himalayan Geology, Geotechnology and hydrogeology. In 2013, Dr. Chadha received IAH Award- for outstanding contributions on Artificial Recharge in India and in December 2002, Dr. Chadha also received his Bhoo vigyan Ratna Award for outstanding contribution in water sector. Dr. D.K. Chadha also got an UNESCO water Award. He has more than 73 research publication in National and International perspectives and 7 special publication which includes Geomorphic Analysis and Chadha diagram for interpretation of physio-chemical analysis (available on website).

Dr. Elango Lakshmanan (Vice President)

Professor Elango Lakshmanan, Department of Geology, Anna University has specialised in the field of hydrogeology including hydrochemistry, hydrogeophysics and groundwater modeling. He has published over 76 research papers in various journals, 110 papers in conference/workshop proceedings and has edited 7 books. He has organized many training programs, workshops and conferences in the field of hydrogeology, including capacity building programs under the World Bank funded Hydrology Project and UNESCO’s International Hydrology Program.

He is in the editorial board of a number of international journals. He has several sponsored research project grants supported by various Indian organizations and International organizations including European Commission, British Geological Survey, Russian Academy of Sciences and Australian Research Council. He is a Co-Chair and WP2 Task leader in European Commission Seventh Framework Programme - FP7 Collaborative Project “Saph Pani”. He has supervised fourteen PhD studies since the year 1994 and at present 10 PhD students are working under his supervision. He was awarded Active Researcher Award by Anna University in the year 2011. He was a recipient of Tamil Nadu Scientist Award (TNSA) in the year 2011. His international collaborative research activities have resulted in signing of MoUs between Anna University and several other institutes abroad.

Dr. Dipankar Saha (Secretary)

Member – SAM, CGWB, Ministry of Water Resources, Faridabad, India

Dr. Sudhanshu Shekhar (Treasurer)

Dr Sudhanshu Shekhar did M.Sc in Geology in 1985 and Ph.D in 1999 from Patna University, Patna, India. He joined Central Ground Water Board, Ministry of Water Resources, Govt of India as Hydrogeologist in the year 1987. Dr Shekhar has vast experience of more than 26 years of service in field of Hydrogeological Investigations, Groundwater Exploration, Hydrochemical studies, Artificial Recharge to ground water, Aquifer Mapping etc. He has special interest in field of Hard Rock Hydrogeology, Aquifer Mapping, Urban Hydrogeology, Hydrogeology of Ganga Basin. He is associated with publication of Bhujal News, journal, Bhujal Quarterly Bulletin and other scientific documents of Central Ground Water Board. Dr Shekhar has undergone number of ground water professional trainings including Ground Water Modelling, Remote Sensing & GIS etc. He has 30 number of National & International publications and more than 25 scientific reports to his credit. He has participated and presented papers in number of National /International conferences including Singapore International World Water Week, (SIWW) at Singapore in 2012 and in International Association of Hydrogeologists Congress 2013 (IAH 2013) at Perth, Australia in 2013. He has been associated with International conferences as an reviewer of scientific papers. He is the member of professional organization , like IAH, IAHS, SAAEG, etc

Shri Subrata Kunar (Executive Member)

Additional General Manager, RITES, Gurgaon, India kunarsubrata@gmail.com


Shri Amlanjyoti Kar (Executive Member)

Suptd Hydrogeologist, CGWB, Ministry of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation, Faridabad, India amlanjyotikar@yahoo.com


MSc (Geology), PhD, CSIR Fellow, More than 22 years of government service in Central Ground Water Board and Upper Yamuna River Board, Ministry of Water Resources, RD&GR, Govt. of India. Having publications in refereed International and national journals and authored various reports and Maps. Specialist in Hydrogeological investigations in karst aquifer terrain, Planning, design and site selection for water wells for community water supply and rain water harvesting - artificial recharge, Urban hydrogeology, Geogenic contamination of ground water by sulphate and Arsenic, Stratigraphic correlations of non-fossiliferous sedimentary sequence.


Dr. Ashok Kumar (Executive Member)

B.Sc (Hons) in Geology from Patna University, M.Sc. Tech in Applied Geophysics from Indian School of Mines, PhD in Hydrogeology from Patna University, CSIR Fellow, UNDP Fellow, more than 60 scientific publications, more than 24 years of experience in the area of groundwater starting from field exploration, aquifer mapping, well site selection, development of Ground Water Information System, development of numerical 3D flow, solute transport and reactive model, geo-chemical modeling, aquifer test design and analysis, well field design, aquifer monitoring, hazardous landfill monitoring, disposal of waste water in deep aquifer, land subsidence monitoring and modeling, water quality and compatibility analysis.

Dr.  Anirban Dhar (Executive Member)

Dr. Anirban Dhar, Assistant Professor, Dept of Civil Engineering, IIT, Kharagpur